Death and Mortality

sands of time

I am not a fan of death but with Death comes awareness of our own mortality.  Today we bury our Grandmother Phyllis Sammons.   She knew this day was coming with talks of “It’s been a good life and sharing memories.”  My last visit with her we had planned out a visit that never happened; God decided it was time for her to come home.

With her death I was reminded of things that were going on in my life that I hoped would change.  She lived without my grandfather for 22 years.  That is a long time to live without the love of your life.  She never wanted anyone else.  Although there was a time she considered the courtship of another man but he too died of cancer.  She said, “I am glad I didn’t get too close to him.  It was hard enough losing your grandfather.”  I understand what she means; it is difficult to lose what you love and feel as if everything that you care for and love in this world gets taken from you. But I also know without love you have nothing.  God gives us life to share his love; give love and you will receive love.  I can think of many times where all I did was love on others and God brought me comfort of love when I least expected it.

I don’t know what is going on but I know things are changing and God is leading me to where I belong.  God will give you the desires of your heart just surrender your heart to him.

Leave a Reply

