Do Not Look for Him Anymore

23_Binoculars_lookingAround_lge_32optANI

Image by thedogpaddler

Scripture to reference-2 Kings 2:14-23

I read “My Utmost For His Highest” by Oswald Chambers every year and every year it is like I am reading it for the first time.  “August 11” talks about how Elisha loses Elijah and he is forced to go on “Alone at Your Jordan, Alone at Your Jericho and Alone at Your Bethel”.

Alone is not new to me I just get tired of it.  People try to fill voids in their life with friends, children, stuff, and work.  When I try to fill voids on my own God makes it more evident and painfully clear that the void is larger than anything that  I can fill.   God is the only one who can fill this void his way.

So this morning as  I read the August 11 page the last paragraph about Bethel stands out where I am at my wit’s end and the beginning of expressing my life of worship and not worrying so much about the loneliness because my true love will arrive on time.  This is scary because I do not want to be celibate for the rest of my life; I want a husband.  God knows me and I am not nun material..

But I do know that in order to lead; you must be a great follower.  How can I be a disciple of Christ if I do not follow and live by his truth?  I must live my life Christ like and it is not easy.  I get mad, I curse, I beg for justice and I want to be great and successful at what I am passionate about.

 The thing about love is that it will thrive if you feed it, but if you neglect or abuse it; it will die.  God’s love for us is never-ending but you will not feel anything unless you surrender yourself to him.

Do not look for the one’s you have lost anymore.  We are meant for greater things than to wallow in self-pity over the loss of someone we loved.  Cherish the moments and what you learned from one another and do not seek to find what is not there.

Leave a Reply

